Caffe 101 – Boiling Springs

On Tuesday May 3, 2011 the breakfast stop was at Caffe 101, located at 101 Front St in Boiling Springs. The restaurant is located right on the corner in what I would consider the square in Boiling Springs. The building is a large older brick home (mansion) directly across from the Boiling Springs Tavern, the clock tower and Childrens Lake. They had off street parking and everything was well kept and neat on the outside. The interior is completely restored and modernised. When I approached the counter I wasn’t sure what to get, but I was pleased to find they had a little bit of everything, including our standard breakfast of eggs, home fries and meat. The nice lady said she would bring me my breakfast so I wandered around the interior and found it to be quite nice, but I spotted a door that led outside to a nice stone patio with tables and umbrella’s. Taking advantage of the beautiful morning I went on out and found a nice table that gave me a good view of the lake. My breakfast arrived in less than five minutes and it looked great. Two nice size eggs, over easy, great little cubed home fries (unique) and three large slices of Canadian bacon, along with honey wheat toast. As I enjoyed the meal I checked the rest of the menu and found that they have a great menu. For breakfast they offer fruit, yogurt, bagels, baked oatmeal, buttermilk pancakes, french toast, breakfast sandwiches and omelettes and eggs, all ranging from $1 to $6.99. Lunch sandwiches and wraps looked good too, ranging from $5.95 to $8.25, and of course they had salads, soups, coffee, espresso, fruit smoothies and deserts. The food seems to be a cut above the usual coffee shop/deli/restaurant in our area with items like Brioche French Toast and Bumbleberry Pie. Even my breakfast was a notch above normal due to the unique and tasty home fries, real Canadian bacon (no additional charge) and honey wheat toast versus plain wheat toast. Overall the Caffee 101 was a very impressive place with a great menu, cozy seating indoors or out and good prices. My meal was $6.62 with a drink and I would definitely come back here again. Caffe 101 is open from 6AM to 7PM on Monday thru Thursday. 7AM to 7AM on Friday and Saturday and 7AM to 4PM on Sunday.

Category

Eggs               3

Potatoes        3

Sides              3

Drinks            2

Service           3

Atmosphere   3

Cleanliness    3

Total             20 / 21

Leave a Reply

